Music for brass sextet : Six original pieces employing techniques of composition exhibited in the Mikrokosmos of Béla Bartók

Thumbnail Image
Issue Date
Embargo End Date
Barnes, Arthur P.

The purpose of this thesis is to bring six original compositions for brass ensemble to the attention of the music education and his students. These compositions are written for study, practice, and performance of twentieth century music by students at the high school level. The techniques of writing used in the thesis are patterned after those used by Bela Bartok in the Mikrokosmos, a work written for teaching purposes, by an outstanding twentieth century composer. The thesis introduces music to educators who are constantly searching for new material for high school ensembles. Such material must be playable, interesting, and of sufficient value to warrant the time necessary for preparation.

Table of Content
Attention -- Get-together -- Reverie -- War dance -- Quiet waters -- Bugs and bears
Thesis (M.M.E.)-- University of Wichita, College of Fine Arts, Dept. of Music